Oregon State University recognizes as Distinguished Professors individuals who have achieved national/international stature as a result of their contributions to scholarship/creative activity, research, education and service, and whose work has been notably influential in their fields of specialization.

2016 Distinguished Professors

Margaret Burnett  -  "Womenomics" and Gender-Inclusive Software: What Software Practitioners Need to Know

Burnett, a professor of computer science in the College of Engineering, has been a pioneer in making computers more useful for everyone. As a leader in several gender diversity activities, including advancing STEM education, Burnett was awarded the 2015 undergraduate research mentoring award from the National Center for Women & IT.

She helped develop the entire field of “end user” software engineering, which allows millions more people to successfully produce computer programs that are dependable and of high quality. Burnett has also tackled the problem of a computer world in which software is often designed by men and fails to acknowledge the different ways in which men and women communicate and process information.

Peter Clark  -  Sea Level Rise Due to Global Warming: Next 100 to 10,000 Years

Clark, a professor in the OSU College of Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences, is an international leader in the study of past climate change to help understand what the future may bring. He has had numerous studies published in the most prestigious academic journals in the world, such as Science, Nature and Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences. Clark also was a lead coordinating author for the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change.

With more than $4 million in research funding brought to OSU, Clark has studied glaciers and ice sheets, both those of today and from the distant past, to help determine what may be the long-term impacts of anthropogenic warming, rising greenhouse gases, and sea level rise. He’s also an award-winning teacher, recipient of 11 other major awards, has organized 20 symposia, and his professional work has generated literally thousands of citations.

Distinguished Professors in Alphabetical Order

  • Alan Acock, Human Development & Family Science
  • Dan Arp, University Honors College
  • James Ayres, Pharmacy
  • George Bailey, Environmental & Molecular Toxicology
  • Joseph Beckman, Environmental Health Sciences
  • Luiz Bermudez, Veterinary Medicine
  • Andrew Blaustein, Environmental Sciences
  • Larry Boersma, Crop and Soil Science
  • Marcus Borg, Religious Studies
  • Arthur Boucot, Zoology
  • Margaret Burnett, Computer Science
  • James Carrington, Ag Botany & Plant Pathology
  • Dudley Chelton, College of Oceanic and Atmospheric Sciences
  • Peter Clark, Geology and Geophysics
  • Tracy Daugherty, English
  • Thomas Dietterich, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
  • Stephen Giovanni, Microbiology
  • Paul Farber, History
  • Balz Frei, Linus Pauling Institute
  • John Fryer, Microbiology
  • Marie Harvey, College of Public Health and Human Sciences
  • K. Norman Johnson, Forest Resources
  • Andy Karplus, Biochemistry & Biophysics
  • Douglas Keszler, Chemistry
  • Jo-Ann Leong, Microbiology
  • Jane Lubchenco, Zoology
  • Christopher Mathews, Biochemistry/Biophysics
  • Jeffrey A. McCubbin, Nutrition and Exercise Science
  • Jeffrey J.  McDonnell, Forest Eng Resources & Mgmt
  • Bruce Menge, Zoology
  • Kathleen Dean Moore, Philosophy
  • Frank Moore, Zoology
  • Jeffrey J.  Morrell, Wood Science and Technology
  • Michael Oriard, English
  • Donald Reed, Biochemistry & Biophysics
  • Bill Ripple, Forest Ecosystems and Society
  • William Robbins, History
  • David Robinson, English Department
  • William Sandine, Microbiology
  • Henry Sayre, Art
  • Lewis Semprini, Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering
  • John Sessions, Forest Eng Resources & Mgmt
  • Arthur Sleight, Chemistry
  • Fred Stormshak, Animal Sciences
  • Steve Strauss, Forest Ecosystems & Society
  • Robert Tanguay, Environmental and Molecular Toxicology
  • T. Darrah Thomas, Chemistry
  • Kensal Edward Van Holde, Biochemistry/Biophysics
  • Richard Waring, Forest Science
  • Patricia Wheeler, College of Oceanic and Atmospheric Sciences
  • James White, Chemistry
  • Ronald Wrolstad, Food Science and Technology