Colson Whitehead Named Next Stone Award Winner

We are thrilled to announce the recipient of Oregon State University's 2019 Stone Award, Pulitzer Prize winner Colson Whitehead. Whitehead's visit for the Stone Literary Award Lecture is scheduled for April 1, 2019.

The Stone Award for Lifetime Literary Achievement, created by a generous gift from Vicki and Patrick Stone '74, honors a major American author who has created a body of critically acclaimed literary work and has been - in tradition of creative writing at OSU - a dedicated mentor to succeeding generations of young writers.

OSU alum Patrick F. Stone ('74) and his wife, Vicki, established the prize to spotlight what they see as one of OSU's best kept secrets: the MFA Program in Creative Writing, which has a growing reputation for its emphasis on mentoring students, building community and reaching out to underserved populations - including at-risk youth and military veterans.  The Stones' $600,000 committment has allowed OSU to award prizes in 2012, 2014 and 2016, and will continue to provide award funding through an endowment.  The honorarium for the award is $20,000, making the Stone Prize one of the most substantial awards for lifetime literary achievement offered by any university in the country.

Recipients of the Stone Literary Award give readings, master classes and lectures in both Corvallis and Portland, highlighting the value of creative communications in contemporary American culture.  In conjunction with the prize, an "Everybody Reads" program features a selected book by the writer, wtih events at libraries, book clubs and independent bookstores. 

Stone Literary Award Lecture with Colson Whitehead

Past Winners of the Stone Award for Lifetime Literary Achievement:

2016 - Rita Dove

2014 - Tobias Wolff

2012 - Joyce Carol Oates