Rita DoveThe Stone Award for Lifetime Literary Achievement, created by a generous gift from Vicki and Patrick Stone '74, honors a major American author who has created a body of critically acclaimed literary work and has been - in the tradition of creative writing at OSU - a dedicated mentor to succeeding generations of young writers. The 2016 winner is acclaimed poet, Rita Dove.

Rita Dove - Stone Award Presentation, Reading and Q&A
7:30 p.m. Thursday, April 14

Oregon State University Campus, CH2M Hill Alumni Center Ballroom
725 SW 26th Street, Corvallis, Oregon
Free and open to the public
Book Signing to follow program

Rita Dove - Interview with readings
7:30 p.m. Friday, April 15

First Congregational United Church of Christ
1126 SW Park Avenue, Portland, Oregon
Free and open to the public
Reception and book signing to follow program

Read about Rita's visit to Roosevelt High School in Portland, Oregon

Rita Dove served as Poet Laureate of the United States from 1993 to 1995 and Poet Laureate of Virginia from 2004 to 2006. She has received numerous accolades, including three lifetime achievement awards, 25 honorary doctorates and the 1987 Pulitzer Prize in Poetry. Dove is the only poet to receive both the National Humanities Medal (1996) and the National Medal of the Arts (2011).

A member of the American Philosophical Society, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and the American Academy of Arts and Letters, Rita Dove holds the chair of Commonwealth Professor of English at the University of Virginia in Charlottesville, where she lives with her husband, the writer Fred Viebahn. They have a grown daughter, Aviva Dove-Viebahn.

The biennial Stone Award is one of the largest prizes of its kind given by an American university. Past recipients include Joyce Carol Oates and Tobias Wolff.

Read more about Rita Dove.